Runaway Bride

 

Hip Hip Horray….IMG_1448

I had a blog all ready to go and then the amazing Supreme Court Decision came in today and I had to switch gears.

I will admit that at first I was a little gun shy about marriage. Prior to marriage becoming legal in Washington State, I had been involved in one formal and two informal commitment ceremonies and none of them worked out for me. Dumped by all three of my exes for a patch of grass in another lawn that was unfortunately already being mowed before those relationships ended— left me a bit cynical.

My slippery history with marriage went back more than thirty years. I was affectionately named the runaway bride since I’d already broken three engagements in my youth (all to men). One poor guy, I’d nearly left at the altar as I called off the marriage two weeks before the wedding. Turns out I did them all a huge favor because marriage to a man was never going to work for me. Five years after the last time I broke my engagement, I had my reason. I was a late bloomer, but I was definitely one hundred percent lesbian.

When it became possible to enter into a Registered Domestic partnership in the state of Washington, my partner and I had already made it past the 7 year mark and we owned a house together, so it just made sense to take the plunge. This was a huge step for me, but we did it to ensure the legal protections given to those in that status.

Not too long after that on December 6, 2012, through a referendum approved on November 6, 2012, it became legal to marry in the state of Washington. I had to face my fears about marriage because as a part of the law if you were already registered domestic partners, unless you dissolved that registration, your status automatically converted to marriage.

DSCN1269Well shit, if I was already going to be married, I wanted to at least have a big party to celebrate in style. I suppose looking back I should have done something more romantic or creative, but instead we just started talking about what we might like to do to celebrate. It was a small affair with only family and friends. We had it catered by our friend who owns a Sushi Restaurant and it was a very unconventional wedding. I wanted to be barefoot, but eventually got talked out of that. I did change into causal wear immediately after the I do.

DSCN1289

My wife and I have been married for almost two years now. August 17th is our anniversary and I can say now unequivocally it was the best decision I’ve ever made in my life. We are legitimate. I love introducing her as my wife. There are thousands of legal reasons to get married, but the one that matters most is that I love her, want to spend the rest of my life with her, and I want the world to know that she and only she is that special person.

DSCN1305

I can’t tell you how happy I am that every other person that chooses to take the plunge in the US, can now stand up and be recognized. Thank you Supreme Court for doing the right thing—finally. I never thought it would happen in my lifetime, but I sure as hell am glad it did!

DSCN1307

For such a cynic I am a romantic at heart and that is why everything I write contains a love story and a happy ending. My debut book is a romance first and then something a little extra to keep it interesting. If you like something a little unconventional – check it out. Asset Management my second book comes out August 1st and Locked Inside, my third book comes out December 1st. They are all romances with a twist. May the romance bug hit us all!

http://www.amazon.com/Love-Forever-Live-Annette-Mori/dp/1927328594/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1435363255&sr=8-1&keywords=annette+mori

LFLF CoverAM Cover

3 thoughts on “Runaway Bride

Leave a Reply

