I Got Nothing…

writers block1

Normally during the course of the week, an idea or topic regarding what to blog about will pop into my pseudo creative head. Unfortunately, this week, no matter what I tried, I couldn’t come up with an idea. Nothing, nada, zip, zilch entered my sphere.

So…that’s what I’m going to talk about—nothing. I suppose what I am experiencing is a form of writer’s block. As annoying as it is to wake up in the middle of the night with a brainstorm on a new direction with your characters, never going down inspiration lane is far worse.

Some of you might remember a TV show called, Seinfeld. The show was wildly popular and lasted nine seasons. This was a TV show about nothing. Now some might argue that the show had to be about something. There was one episode where in a tongue in cheek manner the show had George Costanza pitch an idea for a TV show about nothing to Jerry Seinfeld. The dialogue was hysterical and had George saying the show would have people talking, no story, just talking. He’d convinced Jerry that it would work.

220px-Seinfeld_actors_montage

Remembering that episode got me thinking that although I usually have a topic, all of my blogs might fit neatly into that category—just bumping along with free flowing crap plastered across the page.

I’ll bet all of you thought I couldn’t really pull off a blog about nothing, but really think about it, isn’t that what a lot of us do every day. I know I spend most of my day talking about absolutely nothing.

When I looked up, nothing, in Wikipedia, it states, “nothing, denotes things lacking important, interest, value, relevance, or significance.” Yep I talk about nothing all day long by this definition.

nothing

Now of course my books are not about nothing. They have a bona fide story. So in contrast, if you read my blogs and find them remotely entertaining…well…reading about something has to be better than reading about nothing. The links below will get you to books that have something….

Affinity Author Page         Amazon Author Page

new covers 11-25

2 thoughts on “I Got Nothing…

Leave a Reply

